I Do Not Want Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12.0 to Save Profiles at Default Location

Status
Not open for further replies.

viveknayyar007

Splendid
Moderator
When you install Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12.0 on your computer, and the program creates a new user profile, by default the profile and all its backups are saved in the system drive, which in most cases is C:\. Although there is no harm in leaving the settings intact, things might get sluggish if Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12.0 is configured for frequent backups, or you back up the profiles manually too often.

When this is the scenario, as a smart user, you should change the default location where Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12.0 saves the user profile. While doing so, make sure that the new location where the backup of the user profile is saved has sufficient amount of free space so that multiple instances of the backups can be accommodated without any hitch on glitch.

Modifying the default location of the user profiles and their backups is an administrative task, and therefore elevated privileges are required to get the job done. As the best practice, if you want to modify the default location and change it to something else, it is good to log on to the computer using the administrator account in order to prevent any security issues that may come up later on.

NOTE: If you are configuring the settings in a production environment, where security is a major concern, you should use alternate credentials approach (Run as administrator) and provide appropriate credentials to perform administrative tasks on the computers.
By following the instructions given below, you can modify the default backup location for the user profiles and change it to something else as per your preferences.

Here is what you need to do:

    ■Assuming that you are using Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12.0 on a desktop computer or laptop PC where security is not at the top priority, log on to the system using administrator account.

    ■Initialize Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12.0 by double-clicking its icon.

    ■If any user profile is automatically loaded, close it by going to Profile > Close User Profile.



    ■Once this is done, go to the Tools menu from the menu bar present at the interface of the program at the top.

    ■From the displayed list, go to Administrative Settings.



    ■On the displayed User Account Control confirmation box, click Yes to provide your consent to continue.

    ■On the opened Administrative Settings box, make sure that you are on the Miscellaneous tab.

    ■Click the Change button under the Backup location for user profiles field.



    ■On the opened Browse For Folder box, locate and click to select the folder where you want the backup copies of the user profiles to be saved.



    ■Back on the Administrative Settings box, click OK to save the changes that you have made.

    ■Exit Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12.0 and reinitialize the program to allow the changes to take effect.


 
Status
Not open for further replies.

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS