[SOLVED] “Undoing changes made your computer...”

Aidan B

Honorable
Sep 11, 2016
As I write this, my laptop is sitting at this screen. It was attempting update Win10 in order to keep it from becoming “unsupported” or something like that. I’m a college student, and really needed to get to class, so I left the building I was in (at 17% after an hour). Got to class, and sat for about 10-15min, still at 17%. I’m pretty sure it froze at that because I lost internet connection, but I’m probably wrong. I shut it down, and then turned it back on thinking it would be fine, now I’ve been sitting here at the “Undoing Changes” screen for probably 10ish minutes. I don’t remember the model of MSI laptop I have, but it’s got an i7-8750H, 8GB DDR4, and a 1050. I really need this laptop to be functioning soon. Any help is appreciated.

Solution
First, do not interrupt the undoing of changes. Let that finish.

Second, if you do not already have an external backup drive and take routine, cyclic full system image backups as well as separate user data backups now is the time to get one and institute that practice.

Then, after having taken those backups, then try:
1. Using SFC (System File Checker) and DISM (Deployment Imaging Servicing and Management) to Repair Windows 8 & 10

2. Doing a Windows 10 Repair Install or Feature Update Using the Windows 10 ISO file

Don't use the Update Assistant on the Windows 10 Download page or Windows Update at this juncture.

Report back on your results.

britechguy

Commendable
Jul 2, 2019

Second, if you do not already have an external backup drive and take routine, cyclic full system image backups as well as separate user data backups now is the time to get one and institute that practice.

1. Using SFC (System File Checker) and DISM (Deployment Imaging Servicing and Management) to Repair Windows 8 & 10

2. Doing a Windows 10 Repair Install or Feature Update Using the Windows 10 ISO file