1.2ghz Athlon temperature too hot???

thegr81

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2001
Hey guys, I just built a new computer on friday and I am curious as to whether or not it is running at a reasonable temperature.

My BIOS says that it is running at 55C which seems a little high. I have a Cooler Master heatsink which is supposively AMD approved for 1.3ghz. Anyone have an opinion?

Tempus

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2001
My recommendation is to get rid of that cool master crap and put in a Global Win FOP38. Or do I mean FOP32 (which one is the bigger one, i have a bad memory with low bandwidth :smile: ).

- I don't write Tom's Hardware Guide, I just preach it"

ejsmith2

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2001
I use a fop38, but I was thinking the only difference between the two is a 6800rpm fan. The fop32 is quiet, and the fop38 sounds like a cessna 150 doing a run-up?

G

While we are on the 1.2Ghz chip cooling. is the Thermaltake Golden Super Orb any good?

The Goldent orb is currently doing a great job on my overclocked P3. I'm running Top tempreture of 49Deg in any games or benchmarks. (current CPU is 700@933)

I am wondering of th4 Super Orb is as effective on Athlons

"This message has been printed on 100% recycled Pixels, Keep your system Beautiful, Recycle"

G

That's kinda high. You should be able to get that thing down to under 40 degrees. Get yourself a GlobalWin FOP32 and some Artic Silver. Take some isopropyl alcohol and remove the thermal goop that comes on the FOP and put a thin layer of Arctic Silver on the CPU. That should make your CPU very happy. Check out the Arctic Silver web site for application instructions if you buy some.

Zenthar

Distinguished