10-bit colour with/ without Quadro?

ca4014

Commendable
Feb 3, 2017
Hello everyone, relative beginner here so please excuse my ignorance.

I'm drawing up a spec sheet for a custom-built computer, of which one of the main uses will be Photoshop. I've already bought my monitor, Benq GW2765HT. I had convinced myself it was a 10-bit panel but I now believe it's 8-bit with dithering/ frame rate control.

Either way, can any of you enlightened individuals tell me, first of all, if a 10-bit signal will be of benefit to me? (DisplayPort)

And if so, can anyone please run me through the options? I want to stick with Nvidia. Does it have to be a Quadro? I gather that many GT/ GTX cards support 10-bit colour but not in OpenGL, which is what Photoshop requires.

Photoshop isn't my only intended use for this computer; I was planning a bit of casual 3D rendering and maybe even the occasional game; that's why I've been considering the GTX 960. In an ideal world I'd get 10-bit colour from that, including in Photoshop.

If not, and a Quado is required, how would it fare with rendering/ basic gaming/ general use? If the answer is 'not that well', could I use a lower Quadro model for colour alongside a GTX for rendering? Would a GTX even be necessary? How would an i7 perform with just a low spec Quadro?

Can anyone shed light on this? I know that these questions have been asked before but I haven't managed to find any conclusive answers. And my head is spinning!

Thanks in advance.

Ramlethal

Estimable
as a digital artist i actually use a Wacom cintiq 25HD so i can actually tell that it HAS a difference between normal monitors and extremly excigent monitors...