Volknar

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2011
Howdy everyone! I've been having a lot of friends try and push me from my 360 to a PC, and I'm thinking about finally doing it. I did some looking around on Newegg, and I got kinda lost. Last time I built a computer was my AMD single-core, 512MB RAM and AGP ATI video card system back when I was a freshman in high school. (Using that computer now, just with 1.5GB of ram and a slightly better video card. :p) It was great then, but now it struggles with StarCraft 2 on almost lowest settings.

Approximate Purchase Date: Early next month, within the first week or two.
Budget Range: Around $1000, as close as possible anyways.
System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, internet, watching video.
Parts Not Required: Monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers.
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg.
Country of Origin: USA.
Parts Preferences: None really, I just haven't had good luck with ATI graphics cards though; I've have had 2 of them die out on me after using them for under a year, using a 3rd one right now. (X1650XTX, I think is the number) Considering switching to Nvidia, but I'll see what you guys think.
Overclocking: No.
SLI or Crossfire: I want the possibility for it later, but don't need it right now.
Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080.
Additional Comments: Would like a system with good/decent upgrade potential if possible. Stupid me didn't do my research last time I built a computer, got the dying AGP slot on my motherboard when PCI-E was all the rage. :lol:

I've already picked out the case, but the rest I need some guidance on.

Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Thanks in advance!

Volknar

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2011