<$1000 video editing spankin new build

readingwench

Honorable
Mar 7, 2013
Hello all. Let me kick this off my admiting I'm a total newb, never bought a part before. My head is swimming with models and brands and numbers and requirements and I could really use a hand because I don't really know the first place to start, what products are reputable etc etc

Approximate Purchase Date: sooner the better

Budget Range: $700-$900

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Video Editing, web surfing, Gaming (Would like to get in to it, never had a computer that could even kind of support the thought of it)

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: whooooole new build

Do you need to buy OS: Yes (Windows 7)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Don't really care, mostly been looking at tigerdirect.ca

Parts Preferences: Don't have one? I've MOSTLY been looking at AMD

Overclocking: Maybe someday, not a focus on this build

SLI or Crossfire: I have no idea what this is

Your Monitor Resolution: 1680x1050

Additional Comments: Quiet is wonderful, my current lump of computer is a jet engine

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: My current....thing.... can't even use Windows Movie Maker without possibly (probably) just giving up. Itunes makes it quiver, youtube is stuttery, and I think it actually laughed at me when I tried to download a movie once.

As I said I've been mostly looking at AMD for CPU (FX - 4100 and 8350) but I haven't gotten very far in anything else....I kind of just go in circles endlessly. This is me - :eek: - I've been at this for hours two days in a row I just don't know where to start. I do know I can actually do the build though as I've replaced various pieces of various machines for friends with very good success rate.

Boxasauras

Honorable
Jan 21, 2013
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($189.99 @ Microcenter)