10ms = 100hz?

jojofish

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2004
Does a flat panel pixel response time of 10ms equate to the refresh rate of 100hz that is used to describe television CRTs. Or am I completely on the wrong track?

p05esto

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2001
I'm no expert but I think that is off track.

LCDs don't "refresh" so there's no similarity there. On a LCD a pixel (little light) just stays lit until it needs to change to another color. The time it takes to change colors or fade from black to white is the response time. Think of when you turn a light bulb off - you can almost see the element in the bulb dim out as the light goes off.

When it takes too long for the pixel to change color you get that ghosting effect as the light fades out to another color (trails man). A CRT keeps scanning or refreshing very quickly using a light beam so it's very quick (light speed) and there's no ghosting - just that annoying superfast flashing type effect that tires out your eyes.

<A HREF="http://www.proactivedesign.net/eric" target="_new">More than you want to know about me . . .</A>

jojofish

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2004
Thanks for that reply, it clears the technical issue, but I guess that I also had another aspect of the question in mind.

When LCDs achieve a pixel response time of 10ms (apparently close) will they achieve close to the perceived picture quality (i.e. crisp, no ghosting) of a 100hz CRT or will the fact that there is any detectable 'response' time mean that they will never equal CRTs in this respect?

p05esto

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2001
Again, I'm no expert but 100MHZ is very fast for a CRT. And NO I don't think that's equal to 10ms response time on a LCD. At 12ms there's still reported very slight ghosting (although acceptable) on a LCD so I'd guess 10ms is not that much faster and certainly not as good as 100MHZ CRT. A 75MHZ monitor will really not show any flicker or ghosting type efects.