$1200 i7-4790K R9 290 Build - Will Overclock

HamsterAvenger

Reputable
Jun 30, 2014
Hello good folks of Tom's Hardware. I've been running the same system for 7 years and have decided to upgrade from a Core 2 Quad to something a bit faster. I'm not on a tight budget but still hope to get the best bang for my buck while future-proofing.

Points to consider:
1. I'm only running 1080p right now but will eventually add another R9 290 when prices drop and games become more demanding. Hence, the beefy power supply.
2. I plan to overclock but nothing outrageous like something that needs water cooling. Not a fan of water cooling.
3. When Broadwell comes out, I may upgrade my CPU if it makes sense. I'd like to get the most life out of my motherboard.
4. I will add fans as needed.
5. I live near a Microcenter hence the manually entered prices for the motherboard and CPU.
6. I have Amazon Prime (but pay tax in TX) and have a NewEgg Premier trial (free 2 day shipping).

Any pointers would be appreciated. Thank you.

My build:

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/n9tvqs
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/n9tvqs/by_merchant/

CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor ($279.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 65.0 CFM CPU Cooler ($78.99 @ Newegg)
Thermal Compound: Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver 3.5g Thermal Paste ($6.96 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-GAMING 7 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($139.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory ($144.00 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 500GB 2.5" Solid State Drive (Already Purchased)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (Already Purchased)
Video Card: Gigabyte Radeon R9 290 4GB WINDFORCE Video Card ($319.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 (Black Pearl) ATX Mid Tower Case ($79.99 @ Newegg)