[SOLVED] $2000-3000 budget; please help new builder

May 12, 2020
I am not a graphics whore (lol) and am quite content to play games at 1080 although I may step up a bit with upcoming RPG/1st persons (Cyberpunk etc).

My main goals are: a cool system while gaming, future proofing for as long as possible, decent frame-rates

I play primarily 1st person games like Skyrim, Fallout 4 etc. (yes, old but I mean for genre as new games come out) and games like Baldur's Gate 3/XCOM etc.

My budget is good but I've saved for YEARS to have this amount of money - so I feel stressed about making the right system as this is my first time building (wrestling with should I go pre-bought/pre-made?) I have someone local who is going to help me with the build (putting it together) but they are older (understand the hardware side) and don't understand the component differences as easily.

I'd appreciate any and all help in suggesting a complete system component setup..... I am learning disabled and to be honest there are so many small differences in the "types" of everything (RAM, GPU, CPU) that it makes my head spin in terms of what component works best with others, doesn't bottleneck, power supply, cooling - my hope is to get help so I don't get ripped off by buying the "newest, latest and greatest" when tried and true will give me a long lasting machine....... (for example: 2080 GPU or use 3000 series.... or: do I need more than 16 GB RAM, or liquid cooling? etc.) I could care less what it looks like (don't need bells and whistles) I want a machine that has power for the future, runs cool and is fast for single player gaming.

Help??

Solution