$2000 system that can handle some seriously heavy image processing

edthatalkinhorse

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: Within the next few months

Budget Range: $2000 max

System Usage: This will be my main computer I will use in my laboratory. I'll be using it for light tasks, such as word processing, internet, and some other smaller applications, but the most important thing I need out of this will be the ability to handle and process large image files. I work as a microscopist and will be working with some very large 2D and 3D images (on the order of gigs in size). I will need a higher end video card for the 3D rendering, and a *ton* of memory (at least 8gb). Also, fast ports so I can backup to external HDs quickly would be nice.

Parts Preferences: As far as CPU, I have no preference, AMD or Intel are both fine by me, though its gotta be 64-bit. I think Nvidia video cards are more supported by the software I'll be using, but ATI is also perfectly acceptable. I think I want two monitors...

Overclocking: No..

SLI or Crossfire: I don't know what this is :(

Monitor Resolution: More the bettter!

Additional Comments: It has been quite a while since I've built a PC, so go easy on me with the jargon. I basically need a solid computer that won't give me much troubles for the next ~5 years. Lots of memory, and processing power, and a good video card. Is this possible for $2K????

g-unit1111

Titan
By the way SLI and Crossfire are use for linking to Graphics card to Produce about a 70% Boost of performance to your Graphic Processing.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Comb [...] mbo.791304

SLI and Crossfire aren't even remotely going to give you the rendering equivalent to what a Fire Pro or Quaddro will produce.

Or you can get a mac from this link:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6883104125