[SOLVED] 2060 Super FE Oveclocking help.

Boris12341

Prominent
May 24, 2020
Ok so I have been looking into overclocking my 2060super founders edition. It is paired with a 3700x. I wanted to know how much to do and what are the downsides. I am a newbie when it comes to OCing. Thanks.

Phaaze88

Titan
Ambassador
Focus on cooling first. All of Nvidia's cards since the 10 series are temperature sensitive. The cooler it runs, the higher clocks the card can sustain - bar power limits.
Most people using these cards will be held back by thermals before power limits.

Like the person here found out, they got better performance with a lower power setting; cooling wasn't sufficient with a maxed out power slider.

Boris12341

Prominent
May 24, 2020
Focus on cooling first. All of Nvidia's cards since the 10 series are temperature sensitive. The cooler it runs, the higher clocks the card can sustain - bar power limits.
Most people using these cards will be held back by thermals before power limits.

Like the person here found out, they got better performance with a lower power setting; cooling wasn't sufficient with a maxed out power slider.
Ok thanks. But what are the downsides? And is it worth it for gaming , (warzone, cold war, Battlefield)?

Boris12341

Prominent
May 24, 2020

DMAN999

Dignified
Ambassador
As long as you are Careful when doing/testing the OC (READ that guide) it should be fine.
I have used Afterburner to set OC profiles for my last 3 Video Cards (GTX 1060, GTX 1660 Ti and now my RTX 2060 Super).
They all worked very well and I have never had any issues with them.
I leave the default profile running until I am going to play a game.
Then I enable the OC profile (in Afterburner) and reset it to default it once I am done gaming.
There is no reason to leave it OC'd 24/7.

And yes technically it voids the warranty.
BUT if my GPU ever failed during the warranty period, I would still RMA it.
And I am 99.9% sure they would replace it.

Reactions: Phaaze88

Zerk2012