[SOLVED] 21:9 - is it good for non-gaming, "normal" use and productivity purposes?

Kirigato

Reputable
Oct 22, 2016
Hi, I'll try to be concise.

Currently using 24" 16:9 + my macbook pro, I feel like I am lacking space + need a better display (current one is 6 years old), and I'm confused between a new 16:9 or 21:9.

I am confused because:

Cons:
X I don't intend to play 21:9 games in the nearest future
X I won't use it to watch movies
X I won't use any 21:9 optimised program (video/graphic/music editing, etc.)
X I will use it to watch anime, so black bars here I come
X I'll keep my "always on" additional programs, such as Slack, Google Calendar, Spotify, on separate (my current old one) monitor anyway.

Pros:
  • I might want to dive into 21:9 games in the future
  • As a remote project manager, I will benefit from:
-> Better video conferencing
-> Better view using Jira Software (IT tracking tool)
-> From time to time splitting the monitor into half without the need to rearrange my second monitor (for slack+calendar+spotify purposes only / mostly).
  • I do a lot of coding after hours - using 21:9 seems more appealing than 2 monitors
  • I consume a lot of e-learning sources, again, 21:0 seems more appealing than 2 monitors.
  • It looks amazing + I am really curious about this whole "once you try 21:9 you'll never go back" hype (however, I think 80% of the hype is about gaming and movies).
Thinking if 2x 16:9 isn't a better option for me than 21:9.

Opinions? (I know that you won't decide for me and don't have the whole picture), I just wan't to hear your thoughts as "from what you say it seems you should go for ...". Just looking for stimuli to make the decision already, I am a freaking overthinker!

Last edited:
Solution

Currently using 24" 16:9 + my macbook pro, I feel like I am lacking space + need a better display (current one is 6 years old), and I'm confused between a new 16:9 or 21:9.

I am confused because:

Cons: