32nm and 28nm processors... what does this mean for us?

G

these processors... released by Intel (32nm and 28nm) and AMD (28nm)... does that mean we'll have to buy new motherboards and ram? Will there be a new socket? etc etc

sorry i'm a noob... :p

rooseveltdon

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2009
lol don't worry about that they won't come out for a while (especially the 28nm) and no it does not mean that you would have to change your mobo since the only thing changing is the manufacturing process on the die not the pins, such changes will provide room for more improvements and new features as well as alot more overclocking room as well and reduce heat production and in some cases power consumption as well but no you would not necessarily have to buy new ram or mobo

G

whew... ok that's good news :p

as reported in the other thread... a clarkdale is already out (wtf... i thought it was called westmere... anyways)

i guess to use these 32nm and 28nm cpus, you'll have to upgrade your bios? is that the only change or...

G

i just heard on another thread, amd might come out with Socket G or something for the 28nm cpus? ...which implies am3 people will have to upgrade :O

cadder

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2008
If you have a machine using 65nm or 45nm, there isn't much reason you would want to swap CPU's. The new processors will use less energy and produce less heat, so they will be good for laptops. I don't know if they will have advantages for overclocking but they might. Intel is supposed to make i7's with 32nm so those might be easier to overclock without producing too much heat.

these processors... released by Intel (32nm and 28nm) and AMD (28nm)... does that mean we'll have to buy new motherboards and ram? Will there be a new socket? etc etc

sorry i'm a noob... :p

It probably means the transistors will be even smaller :D

Actually it means a bigger transistor budget, ergo more cache, cores, etc.