Question 3rd gen Ryzen memory bandwidth: a disaster for content creators?

Jul 7, 2019
I’m a filmmaker building a new system for 2D animation in After Effects, 3D animation in Maya, and editing in Premiere at the moment, but probably switching to DaVinci Resolve in the near future. I don’t plan to do any gaming on this system, though there’s a possibility I might use it for VR production in a gaming engine at some point.

I had planned to build with a 2nd gen Ryzen CPU, with the hopes of upgrading to the 3rd gen in the near future. But with the actual release of the 3rd gen CPU’s I’ve found out that the memory bandwidth for writes has been cut in half on these new CPUs, as it has been sacrificed in favor of features that most users will supposedly use more.

But as a content creator, a huge part of my workflow is making small changes and then doing new RAM previews or caches that write a new version of a clip to RAM so I can see what I’m doing over the course of an animation or edit. I’m not a computer expert, but it seems like this process uses “writes” to RAM as much as it uses reads (whereas I could see how games and other software might only load data into RAM once and read it many times).

Now I’m actually worried that I shouldn’t be using an AM4 socket at all for this build, if the new Ryzen’s going forward will be processors I won’t want to upgrade to.

Could someone please tell me if my understanding of writes vs. reads is correct, and whether this is a real issue I should be concerned about, or whether I’m just misunderstanding what my computer will be doing while I’m working?

Thanks!

Jul 7, 2019
unless all you so is copy data. processing power is important too
found this too.

Thanks for finding this article! Sounds like that youtube reviewer got his info from here... but when they say "AMD’s made a compromise as client workloads do very little writing" What clients are they talking about?