4790k temps maxing out with ANY overclock

PMac85

Honorable
Dec 1, 2013
I'll start by saying I've been OC'ing my GPU for years but this is my first time attempting to OC my CPU.

SPECS:

MSI 270x 2GB
16GB 1866 DDR3
MSI z97 Gaming 3
Hyper 212 EVO

I've watched a few videos and read some guides for my specific chip, but for some reason anything over the stock clock hits 100C almost instantly in Prime95 or OCCT (Small FFT).

I started by trying for what seems to be the average safe OC by putting vcore at 1.3 and Core clock at 4.5. I've tried auto and adaptive for vcore, left everything else at auto, and tried with and without XMP.

I'm getting temps around 65-72 at 100% with the stock clock, and I've tried lowering the core clock from my initial test at 4.5 down to 4.4 and vcore to 1.28, and I'm getting the same results.

Sorry for my ignorance on the subject, but I know I should be getting better results than this. I've got piles of fans, and my case has great airflow, so these temps at such a modest OC just don't seem right to me.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Patrick

PMac85

Honorable
Dec 1, 2013
Hi Terry, I haven't run any tests yet with OC Genie turned on, but the stock turbo is 4.4GHz, and my temps are stable with that, and I believe all OC Genie does is lock the core clock to a constant 4.4 is that correct? Aside from that, if I'm getting good temperatures in Prime on the stock clock, wouldn't it make sense that my thermal paste is fine? I would have thought that a bad application would result in high temps even at stock speeds...

From what I understand, the core clock that the OC Genie sets will vary depending upon the processor. If it is like the Asus version, you will have several overclocks to choose from. But the point is it is fast which is good when you are trying to troubleshoot it.