4gigs posting, only 2.2 recognized in windows.

zooairz

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2006
System:

Mobo: evga 680i

Ram: 2x 2gigs XMS 1066 5-5-5-15 (stock) Dual channel kits, "SLI Certified, EPP,..."
(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145033)

CPU: qx6700, (video editing)
GPU: evga 800gtx (2) in SLI (games)
PSU: 1000w

I am new to the whole SLI thing.

SLI enabled ram in the bios, whatever that means. Speed link is also enabled to the 2 gtx's, whatever that means.

The 4 gigs is posting just fine at either 800 or 1066, depending on what I try. I seem to be able to notch up my cpu to about 3.0ghz and frankly, I leave the rest as it is.

Windows is only recognizing 2.2 gigs of the 4 though. Is it getting used by something else like the graphics cards? I have not used memtest yet, nor looked at it with CPU-Z but there have been no problems installing or working otherwise. I just wanted to get the most out if it, especially the video rendering.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Edit your boot.ini file and add the /3GB command line paramater. Google "boot.ini /3gb" for correct usage. 32 bit windows uses at leat 1 gig for memory addressing for hardware leaving 3 gig for applications. XP 64 bit can utilize 4+ gig no problem.

zooairz

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2006
Thanks for the note on the /3GB for the boot.ini. That was helpful but I can't seem to confirm if it worked or not.

I added the switch to the ini file but there is no change in the recognized RAM. That being said, however, I read on MS's website that it uses 1gb for what it wants and leaves the left over 2.2 gigs of RAM for whatever. That total 1+2.2 is the 3, but maybe I misunderstood. If anyone has a thought, great.

Thanks again.

TabrisDarkPeace

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2006
Windows XP supports 4 GB of RAM, if 0 bytes are used for I/O acceleration.
With Dell Pentium D systems I've been able to map 3.50 GB of 4.00 GB as memory - it is not 'that hard'.