6670 on 220w PSU

MrPiddles

Honorable
Jun 5, 2012
Hi guys, I'm new here and really scratching my head on this one. I'm a college student who mostly uses my little slimline desktop for surfing the web and for my digital art, but recently I've taken up MMO gaming between my studies. Last week a friend of mine stopped by and commented on how crappy the game looked on low settings, and said he had a graphics card he could give me that would be a big improvement. It turns out it's a Radeon 6670. Before I even tried to install the card I did some research and found mixed opinions on whether this card would work with my setup seeing as I only have a 220w PSU, and a few people stated that as long as there's at least 14 amps on the positive 12v rail it should be fine. (Full disclosure: this technical side of things makes my head spin a little.) I opened my case and looked at the label on the PSU only to find that there's two entries for the +12v rail.

dxn281.jpg

So my main question is this: will the card run (safely) with this PSU? (I'm a 3rd-year student in a dual-degree program, so I don't have a lot of spare change to upgrade parts.)

And, just out of curiosity, why are there two +12v rails? Since one is listed as 16a, does that mean it passes the "14 amps" requirement?

Thanks for any and all help you can offer. I'm at a loss when it comes to hardware, but I will try to provide any other information that may be needed.

By the way, I believe this is my computer.

MrPiddles

Honorable
Jun 5, 2012
Oh, it just occurred to me to see if there's even enough room to install it. To my amateur eye it looks like there is, but I figured it couldn't hurt to ask here too.

2w3q9v6.jpg

randomkid

Distinguished
Yes, the 6670 should fit into the black slot.

As for the power, you might get away with it. I entered your PC specs + the 6670 in here:
http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine
& I got around 190W minimum but recommend 239W as safe. Try it yourself & decide.