Question 7.95 gb used out of 16 gb

Jul 19, 2019
Greetings all. I am new to the PC world and I have successfully built my own PC since early July but I have gotten to hardware troubles that I had to do a lot of research and questions being asked all around regarding my motherboard lighting up DRAM.

Originally my ram was Team T-Force Delta RGB 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200, and whenever I turned on my computer three distinct sounds could be heard and the motherboard lights up said hardware, my friend came over and gave a look at it only that one of them is malfunctioned even though they’re brand new.

Fast forward to when it is a working PC and I had to use 1 working ram, I bought a new set of RAM, I noticed that the DRAM did not light up in the motherboard, however I searched in my windows PC that it is currently using 7.95 gb out of 16 GB. I googled and YouTube for any possible answers but to no avail.

• I have run msconfig in my settings which popped up system configuration, then the boot tab, advanced options, under advanced options I checked maximum memory which it did showed 16gb from last I saw the other night. I hit ok, and ok once again, I clicked exit without restart. I hit start, looked for my system info, system protection, advanced tab, then under performance I hit settings, advanced tab once again, virtual memory, unchecked automatically managed and clicked on paging files. Proceeded to restart my computer, did not work.
  • I tested both of my new ram with using one of each ram in the same slot(s), says 8 GBG after each boot, no issue.