Question 7740x on ROG stric x299-e with gtx 1080 and Samsung 970 EVO Plus will have pcie lanes bottleneck ?

Dec 28, 2019
Hello,

If I could ask someone please to enlighten me, I am still learning basics...
I built my first gaming rig 2 years ago, based it on ROG stric x299-e mobo and went for chepest 2066 socket cpu, 7740x assuming i will upgrade later to i9 7700x. Very fast I found out, that despite not having intel graphics and only being limited to 2 channel ram and 16 lanes this cpu is all i need for my gaming rig, very good single core performance, with my 16gb in two lanes i don't need more for gaming and 16 lanes for my single gpu gtx 1080, i don't need more than that. All games run perfect including VR. Over last two years all upgrades i did were case cooling, vanity things like rgb stuff, and drives that are all on sata connection. At the moment best upgrade i can do for my needs is m.2 drive for system. I found very nice samsung mz-v7e1t0bw 970 evo 1 TB which would speed me up about 5-6 times considering read/write speeds over my current system ssd. Thing I do not understand is... how does it use pcie lanes ? 7740x has only 16 and gtx 1080 uses those. If i understand things corectly m.2 needs 4 lanes. will it take those 4 from 16 and leave only 12 for gpu ? Please help the noob understand how this works :)

Clear brakedown of parts involved in the question if they will play nice together :
ASUS ROG stric x299-e
i7 7740x
GTX 1080 8gb
Samsung mz-v7e1t0bw 970 evo m.2

edit: spelling corrections

Last edited:
Dec 28, 2019
@alexoiu Thank you swift reply !
Please help me learn, I have looked at exact same diagram i found on intels website before, but as I know jack ass... how do you know the m.2 slots are controlled by chipset ? I mean I can see this 24 x PCI Express 3.0 lanes but how do I know that m.2 uses those ? You know it by looking at this diagram please help me understand how so that I learn something.

You're welcome.