Question 7F 0000000000000008, EXCEPTION_DOUBLE_FAULT crashes

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
Hi, I have an update, I ran those tools and everything was fine. I have an old PC lying around so I decided to put my 3080 into it and test andddd. I get crashes on the system that worked fine before but with the 3080 in it. So, unfortunately i'm now 99% sure it's a GPU issue. Cyberpower also still won't seem to respond to me so I seem fresh out of luck. I'm using a gigabyte OC version of the card, so I want to try to underclock the card from its OC'd state and see if that promotes more stability; alas it seems that the MSI afterburner page just doesn't work anymore and i'm not sure how to go about messing with GPU clock speeds outside of it. I suppose the worst case scenario has come true.
 
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
Hi, I have an update, I ran those tools and everything was fine. I have an old PC lying around so I decided to put my 3080 into it and test andddd. I get crashes on the system that worked fine before but with the 3080 in it. So, unfortunately i'm now 99% sure it's a GPU issue. Cyberpower also still won't seem to respond to me so I seem fresh out of luck. I'm using a gigabyte OC version of the card, so I want to try to underclock the card from its OC'd state and see if that promotes more stability; alas it seems that the MSI afterburner page just doesn't work anymore and i'm not sure how to go about messing with GPU clock speeds outside of it. I suppose the worst case scenario has come true.
Also this crash seems to have actually created a minidump. If you want to take a look at it, i'm not exactly sure if there's anything I can do about it, but i'm pretty sure it's something to do with the card.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/16atj4EjAUZdaO-ovllh9iZQYvRaTp9aB/view?usp=sharing
 

gardenman

Dignified
Moderator
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/0d7r1q8u/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.

File information:051221-281906-01.dmp (May 12 2021 - 18:14:57)
Bugcheck:VIDEO_TDR_ERROR (116)
Driver warnings:*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for nvlddmkm.sys
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 33 Min(s), and 30 Sec(s)

Comment: The overclocking driver "IOCBios2.sys" was found on your system. (Intel Extreme Tuning Utility)

The nvlddmkm.sys file is a NVIDIA graphics card driver. There are a few things you can do to fix this problem. First off, try a full uninstall using DDU in Safe Mode then re-install the driver (more information). Or try getting the latest version of the driver. Or try one of the 3 most recent drivers released by NVIDIA. Drivers can be found here: http://www.nvidia.com/ or you can allow Windows Update to download the driver for you, which might be a older/better version.

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
oh look, the 2% case, it actually tells us a driver name...

run ddu as suggested above. you have latest driver version now so try a slightly older driver version.

What PSU did you get to replace the standard 1000w you had before?
 
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
oh look, the 2% case, it actually tells us a driver name...

run ddu as suggested above. you have latest driver version now so try a slightly older driver version.

What PSU did you get to replace the standard 1000w you had before?
I'll try and do the DDU here soon and report back with results, this could be the issue because the card in this system before was a 1080 and i replaced it with the 3080 so something could have went haywire there. Also, I replaces the 1000w with a Corsair RMX 850w, which I believe should be enough wattage for the system.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Yeah, that PSU is good brand/model. Unlike the 1000w standard, it will provide 850 if needed, the other was less certain. You shouldn't need 850, thats just for the peak usage that might never happen. Nvidia aimed real high with their suggested PSU for their cards.

So the pc didn't even come with the 3080? I assumed it had.
 
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
Yeah, that PSU is good brand/model. Unlike the 1000w standard, it will provide 850 if needed, the other was less certain. You shouldn't need 850, thats just for the peak usage that might never happen. Nvidia aimed real high with their suggested PSU for their cards.

So the pc didn't even come with the 3080? I assumed it had.
It did, so what happened here is that I had upgraded PCs to the one with the 3080 prebuilt. I'm currently using my old PC that had a 1080 ti and a i7 8700k in it. I had suspicions that the card might be at fault so I moved the 3080 to my old PC that had the 1080 in it and the crashes are still happening.
 
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
It did, so what happened here is that I had upgraded PCs to the one with the 3080 prebuilt. I'm currently using my old PC that had a 1080 ti and a i7 8700k in it. I had suspicions that the card might be at fault so I moved the 3080 to my old PC that had the 1080 in it and the crashes are still happening.
I've since tried lowing some clock speeds of the card with Nvidia inspector because afterburner is not working on their website and I haven't had a crash yet. Although I have yet to try games that actually trigger the crashes. Some games I can play forever with no issues, for example Overwatch or even some VR Games. I theorize this is because these games are more CPU intensive causing for the GPU to not be worked until it decides to shut off, while games more GPU intensive such as Destiny 2 or Dying Light would cause the system to crash because it's using more GPU than CPU, But i'm not 100% sure on this.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
at least you have a spare. My last PC is still at base of my bed, but its GPU died 3 days before I got current one. It still works but gpu runs hot all the time. I hope not to need to use it again.

if it has problems in 2 different PC, its likely the GPU (but since you already replaced 2 parts without being sure, I would get a repair store to check it and make sure).
 
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
at least you have a spare. My last PC is still at base of my bed, but its GPU died 3 days before I got current one. It still works but gpu runs hot all the time. I hope not to need to use it again.

if it has problems in 2 different PC, its likely the GPU (but since you already replaced 2 parts without being sure, I would get a repair store to check it and make sure).
Yeah, I think i'm going to mess around with some overclock settings within the GPU and see if I can get any luck with that, If not i'll probably bring it down to the store and see if they cant give me a for sure answer. If the 3080 is bad it's very unfortunate and i'll just have to wait until the cards don't cost a left arm. I did move the PSU along with the card into this PC, but at this point the card has been hooked up to 3 different PSU's so I doubt it's a PSU issue. I'll try my best to do everything I can within my control to get it working the best it can. I suppose i'll take this experience as a lesson to build my own stuff from now on so I have control of part replacement and correct assembly.
 
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
can't you rma the gpu?
My issue is that I got the prebuilt from cyberpower and i've sent a few ticket requests and ive attempted to contact them but with no response, on top of that i'm not sure how they feel about RMA's after ive pretty much taken the original PC apart and replaced core parts. Maybe I can request a specific part RMA but i've had no luck contacting them yet.
 
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
So you tried this?

https://www.cyberpowerpc.com/support/misc_replacement_request.aspx

They don't exist in my country so I haven't had much dealing with them.
Hi, sorry it's been a while. Thought i'd give an update. So I RMA'd the card to cyberpower after calling them. They got to it surprisingly quick and sent me back a new one in under a week. I hooked it up and low and behold; the crashes were still happening. I suppose I neglected the fact that when I moved the 3080 to the old PC that had been working, I also moved the brand new PSU that I had ordered (the 850 watt corsair one). So I thought to myself, there's no way it's the card considering that this is happening across 2 different cards. So I decided to hook up my old PC's 700 watt PSU that was working fine to this machine. Now the machine seems to be working fine, I've been using it with games that would "usually" crash the PC for about 2 days now with no issue. I'm not 100% sure this is a fix; it's very possible the machine will shut down randomly still, but things seem stable for now. I've also been unplugging my VR whenever it's not being used as to reduce any extra stress on the machine, i'm sure this is just placebo but it seems to be working fine. So if this was just a PSU issue the whole time, then in short. My 1000Watt PSU from cyberpower was bad, then I ordered another 850Watt corsair one that was also DOA. So I might have just been unlucky enough to get 2 bad PSU's and have been running myself crazy. Hopefully everything will stay working fine and I might try and reorder a new PSU after returning the 850 watt if everything keeps running smoothly.
 
Last edited:
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
No one expects (the Spanish inquisition! … oops) 2 bad PSU in a row.

Corsair normally make good PSU. I almost got one in current PC but I chose Seasonic as usual

Fingers crossed :)
Thought i'd give an update. I'm believe that my issue was just me being stupid in the fact that I was using 1 PCIE cable that was split to power the graphics card. Changing this to having 2 PCIE cables connected seems to have resolved the issue of it completely crashing the system, however. I'm now having a different, yet similar issue where randomly all of my screens go black, just the like crashes however. After about 5-10 seconds the monitors will come back on and I will have access to the PC again, however the main process that I was using seems to have crashed, be it whatever I was doing at the time.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Yeah, your card wouldn't like split power like that, it works for a 2070 but not a 3080.

After about 5-10 seconds the monitors will come back on and I will have access to the PC again, however the main process that I was using seems to have crashed, be it whatever I was doing at the time.
Is there any errors showing in reliability History saying GPU driver stopped responding? as thats what it sounds like to me. What happens is the gpu driver will stop responding, and windows will try a few times and cause screen to go dark if it swaps to the basic display drivers instead as they can't run most resolutions asked of them.
 
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
Yeah, your card wouldn't like split power like that, it works for a 2070 but not a 3080.



Is there any errors showing in reliability History saying GPU driver stopped responding? as thats what it sounds like to me. What happens is the gpu driver will stop responding, and windows will try a few times and cause screen to go dark if it swaps to the basic display drivers instead as they can't run most resolutions asked of them.
Yes, I believe it is giving a display driver error, it was giving some error along the line of 117 or something similar. I’m not home but I looked it up when I saw it and it was saying it was a nvidia driver error. I recently did a DDU reinstall of my drivers and it seems that the error is persisting.
 
Last edited:
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
Yes, I believe it is giving a display driver error, it was giving some error along the line of 117 or something similar. I’m not home but I looked it up when I saw it and it was saying it was a nvidia driver error. I recently did a DDU reinstall of my drivers and it seems that the error is persisting.
For more info, it display an event ID of 1 when it happens and the source is NVIDIA OpenGL Driver.
 
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
For more info, it display an event ID of 1 when it happens and the source is NVIDIA OpenGL Driver.
Also im not sure if this will give you a hint as to what is going on, but my desktop very often will just go black and then back to normal again after a while and swap between the two. When it's happening I can drag my mouse and make squares of black or normal desktop backgrounds depending on what way it's going.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Event id 1 is lower than i expected... most of the time event ID numbers are 4 digit numbers.

"The description for Event ID 1 from source NVIDIA OpenGL Driver cannot be found. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupted. You can install or repair the component on the local computer.
Nvidia link

Have we tried reinstalling Nvidia drivers? https://forums.tomshardware.com/faq/how-to-perform-a-clean-install-of-your-video-card-drivers.2402269/
 
Apr 20, 2021
26
0
30
0
Event id 1 is lower than i expected... most of the time event ID numbers are 4 digit numbers.


Nvidia link

Have we tried reinstalling Nvidia drivers? https://forums.tomshardware.com/faq/how-to-perform-a-clean-install-of-your-video-card-drivers.2402269/
Hi, I updated my BIOS and the issue has reduced in frequency, but is still happening. Yes, I have done a DDU install of new drivers and a month old driver to maybe see if the new one was not working correctly. I'm currently on a month old driver so i'm gonna try brand new drivers with the updated bios and see if I get some more stability.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY