8 GB RAM Not Working

I am a PC Hobbyist. That being said, this system is OLD and unnecessary. I KNOW. :)

Specs:
Motherboard: ASRock G31M-S [LGA 775 Socket]
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 9300
Memory: Samsung DDR2 666 2 x 4GB
Graphics: PNY Nvidia Geforce GTX 1050 Ti
Storage: Kingston A400 120GB SSD [SATA II]
Storage: Western Digital 1 TB 7200 RPM 3.5"
Power: 375W Great Wall

Okay this is a semi-odd question. Never have I experienced anything quite like this.

I just bought two sticks of 4GB Samsung DDR2 memory for this computer. It originally had two 1GB sticks of Samsung DDR2 memory. It was completely stable and passed all memory diagnostics I threw at it.

Now, the two sticks of 4GB memory will only work in the slot FURTHEST from the processor but becomes unstable the moment either stick is placed in the slot closest to the processor. Its imperative that you are aware that they work completely fine in the slot furthest from the processor, with no issues. The old RAM still works in both slots. The memory is supported by the motherboard.

I tried:
- Re-installing Windows
- Memory diagnostics for both the 4GB sticks and the 1GB Sticks.
- Updating BIOS
- Resetting CMOS
- Underclocking/Overclocking the memory and processor

A friend thought it might be the power supply, but it didn't make sense to me if it works in one slot and not the other. I am aware that DDR2 memory consumes much more power than DDR3 or DDR4.

Any thoughts?

Just some question for checking (to be sure)
- Both memory sticks are seated in either slots (but only one seated), and in both cases - it works only when seated in one of the slots?

Also - be aware that the memory slot is made of plastic, and one slot may be softer than the other and may therefore bend more when ram stick is inserted. Therefore - have you seated the ram sticks while mobo still mounted in the computer case? If yes, I'll recommend you try to seat the ram sticks while mobo is resting to a hard surface with paper layer between.