8700K delid - high temps - need advice

PC-GAMER_1

Commendable
Feb 3, 2017
Morning all,

I am not new to the computer front with over 16 years experience but when it comes to overclocking I am a total noobie and need advice.

As the title states, I have delided my 8700k with liquid metal following a numerous of guides/videos closely and running an overclock at 5ghz I am getting bsod with temps at about 78-90c still so something clearly is not right.

Specs
8700k 5ghz delid LM
gigabyte gamer 5 Motherboard
dark rock pro 4
DDR4 3200mhz xmp

Settings of the motherboard
1.28v - 70-78c - Unstable in Prime95 using small fft
1.29v 75-85c - unstable in Prime95

I can get stable at 1.33v with all cores at 100% but the temps hit 95c which clearly something is wrong - basically the overall settings i am using are from this video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcZkEZ8x3oA

Idle temps are about 30-38c even with cooler reseats multiple times.

Can't think of anything else i need to tell you all to help me out but it is driving me crazy! and constantly on my mind even at work now thinking about it. Just so you know I have tried doing research all over the internet but still no luck - i hear about avx offset as prime95 uses it ?

Thanks in advance all

James

Solution
PC-GAMER_1,

Here's the nominal operating range for Core temperature:

Core temperatures above 85°C are not...
Maybe the ihs is bit off? They are known to be not conpletley flat and creating scenario like you have.
I guess if you have will you can take out cpu and spin the ihs on flat table/surface to check that, if it does its not flat.
And if you have will to sand it down, its kinda long process.

PC-GAMER_1

Commendable
Feb 3, 2017
That is a very good point, I will give this a go tonight ... if its not flat - I work in manufacturing, possibly get the guys to cnc it flat ? or would sanding be just enough.