System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, general use

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com

Country of Origin: Canada

Parts Preferences: I lean towards Intel and Nvidia, but it's not set in stone

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe, but probably not

Monitor Resolution:, 1920x1080

Additional Comments: I've never built a computer before, so obviously I am no expert on any of this, so I was hoping for help from people who are. I probably won't be buying anything until Christmas time (first semester of college being done then), so this is all just really brainstorming for the moment.

I fiddled around on Newegg for a while and came up with this build:

http://secure.newegg.ca/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=16663652

Which turned out to be $968.07 Canadian after shipping and tax (not including the $60 USD of rebates)

Any opinions and thoughts on a better build for a better price would be awesome!

Chris21

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2011
I should have mentioned that I will be using Canadian sites (Newegg.ca, amazon.ca, ect) because of international shipping costs. Sadly, that limits my options to a degree, and means the parts you list there aren't available for anywhere near the same price.

Chris21

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2011
Yeah that does sound pretty good (even after our wonderful 12% tax), thanks for the input. What makes you recommend the 6950 over the 560 ti? Actually, if you felt like explaining the shortfalls of my build in general that would be really helpful! Thanks for all the help.

He has a better (beefier) psu, a mobo that does both SLI and Xfire, a better case, h/d, etc.. and the reason he was able to do this was he used direct canada where not only do you get free shipping on that build he posted, they don't hose you on the prices like newegg canada does on a regular basis.

Chris21

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2011