[SOLVED] 9400F instantly jumping from 67ºC to 58ºC on games?

TBlazeWarriorT

Prominent
Jun 11, 2020
So, I built my first PC a while ago, but as I started playing my first CPU-intensive game since then (Far Cry 3), things became a bit unstable, with usage spiking from 20% to 80% and my temperature once instantly jumped from 67ºC to 58ºC according to MSI Afterburner.

The spike isn't as quick on OpenHWMonitor, but still a little too big/fast (like 50 -> 55 -> 60 straight over ~3s, 10ºC in 3s doesn't sound great). Either it is too unstable or the readings aren't too accurate? The usage/temps look a bit more normal in other parts of the game.

My CPU mode is set to silent in the gigabyte smart fan 5 bios setting because default is a little too loud, but this might not be related, and I'm using the stock cooler. I accidentally touched the thermal paste while installing but it was just a little bit.

Here's a 10s video showing the spikes on Afterburner and OpenHardwareMonitor:
View: https://youtu.be/bM_cYEXntSc

It might be just normal and safe, specially since I doubt my CPU will go over 75-80ºC, but I wanted to check with you guys if my readings look safe enough to ignore and let it be. Thanks.

Solution
Temps jump commensurate with clock speed and core voltage and load...

A CPU can go from 1% load to 100% in a fraction of a second, and, from 38C to 68C just as quickly, and often do many times per second......

This is nothing to 'fix'...; it is normal.

Ziferous

Reputable
Feb 18, 2017
No doubt the stock cooler isn't the best quality, but it seems to be doing alright with the temperatures. A spike from 20% to 80% is a bit alarming. Do you know if you have any background applications or processes running? Since it is your first build, it is common for mistakes to occur. Make sure your CPU is installed correctly. If it isn't, just reseat it and you should have much more consistent usage/temps.

TBlazeWarriorT

Prominent
Jun 11, 2020