960 VS 1080, worth it?

ldelcarpio718

Prominent
Nov 9, 2017
Per the title, just curious if it is worth upgrading from a 960 to a reg. 1080. I was thinking about upgrading to a 1080 TI, but it is quite of bit a moolah. I want to play games like Destiny 2, doom, battlefield all while streaming it as well. I am new to this, so any and all information is greatly appreciated. Apologies in advance if this was a generic or dumb question, just trying to gain more knowledge. Thank you!

Solution

DVI-I is the combo port that carries both digital and analog signals. You are using DVI-D DL(digital, dual link), which Pascal cards do still have only up to the 1080 (not on the 1080Ti or the Titan Xp). However, your monitor also has DisplayPort, so you have 2 ports capaable of 1080@144Hz, so you're fine. I only brought up the first thing because I've seen many people posting on here that they can no longer use their old VGA connected displays when they purchase a current gen card, but that's a non-issue for you since your display is...

spdragoo

Expert
Ambassador
It's also going to depend on what resolution you're playing at. A 1080 is a big upgrade over a 960, but the 1080 (or even 1080TI) are meant for high resolution/high refresh rate monitors (i.e. 1440p/144Hz, 4K/60Hz). If you're looking to play at 1080p, you might want to consider instead the 1060 (for 60Hz) or 1070 (for 144Hz).

doubletake

Honorable
Sep 30, 2012
A 1080 is 3 to 4 times faster than a 960. Of course it's worth it; you won't even know what you're missing out on compared to a 1080Ti because even a regular 1080 is just so much faster than your current card. You'll definitely be happy with the purchase.