A+ Certification worth it (for me)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Xeros606

Distinguished
Dec 4, 2009
I'm currently a high school student about to go in for my last year, and once that's over, I'm off to college. I don't know what exactly I'm going to major in; there is a low chance it will even be something related to computers. I want A+ Certification mainly because I'm planning on getting a job in college, and I think I'm fairly knowledgeable with computers, and want to put that to use in my job search. However I have no experience - that is to say, I don't have anything to put on a resume. I doubt writing "I built a few computers over the years" will be as good as a certification of some sort on a resume. Do you think an A+ Certification is worth the time? I'm not expecting a high paying full time position, I just want a part time entry level job with computers so I can earn a few bucks. And again, I don't plan on going all the way forward with this.

Bonus question: I know there are people out there with good positions in the IT industry who have no certifications, or a college degree, or in some cases, neither. I'd like to know, if you are one of these people, how did you get your foot in the door?

GunBladeType-T

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2010
A+ Certification Teaches you everything you need to know about PC's to get your foot in the Door. it covers many Operating Systems 2000/XP/Vista troubleshooting and a numerous amounts of fixing tech issues to security tips and networking knowledge. The test has gotten somewhat harder but for someone knew I think you can pass by reading the comptia books from there site or watching those training DVD's. What I would do is get a certification from Microsoft also covering the OS too would help.

riser

Illustrious
First, the A+ is crap because it's handed out like candy. That being said, this is why the A+ is good: