[SOLVED] A new GPU and a whole new rig later OR a whole new rig and a new GPU later?

Mar 2, 2019
Hey guys,

I find myself in quite a difficult situation, and since I'm not a professional in these things, I'm asking for your help.

I recently bought a 1440p 144fps monitor and since I play games like Overwatch and The Witcher 3, I started to consider buying myself an upgrade to my current setup, as I usually find myself playing around 60 fps, which does not use the full potential of my new monitor. On my new upgrade I plan to spend up to 800-900 € (approx. 910-1020 USD) and the problem is my current motherboard with old CPU and RAM sockets.

Thus my current options are either:
  • Buy a whole new rig now (CPU, motherboard, RAM) and a new GPU later
  • Buy a new GPU now and later a CPU, motherboard and RAM

The question for you guys is - which one of these options do you think is better for me to choose? I have already considered buying the graphics card first, namely the ''MSI V372-031R GeForce RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio Video Card Black'' for 830€ from a German Amazon. Do you think this would be a wise choice?

Also, my current setup here:

AMD FX-8350 Black Edition, Socket-AM3+
Gigabyte GeForce G1 GAMING GTX 960 4GB
MSI 970 GAMING, Socket-AM3+
HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz 16GB Black
Cooler Master G550M, 550W PSU

Thanks for any help

Solution
A perennial question, and it depends on what kinds of games you play.
Here is my stock approach to that question:
Some games are graphics limited like fast action shooters.
Others are cpu core speed limited like strategy, sims, and mmo.
Multiplayer tends to like many threads.

You need to find out which.
------------------------------------------------------------
To help clarify your CPU/GPU options, run these two tests:

a) Run YOUR games, but lower your resolution and eye candy.
If your FPS increases, it indicates that your cpu is strong enough to drive a better graphics configuration.