A Noobie's Experience in Lapping

stabgotham

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2006
I recently had OC'd my aging AMD Athlon 3700+ San Diego from 2.2gHz to 2.9gHz...all of this on stock cooling. I was so thrilled! Until that is, I started playing a semi-recent game. See, I'm addicted to America's Army. I don't know for a fact, but the game is so old I bet someone with an IGP could play it. Needless to say, it does not tax my CPU or GPU in anyway.

So one evening, I decided to download the 7-day trial of Lord of the Rings Online. After playing for about 15 minutes, I could hear through my headphones what sounded like an airplane in my office. Sure enough it was my HSF running at close to 5000 RPM's and the CPU was hovering at 58C. At first I thought “okay…well, I can deal with this.” But on the second evening, I couldn’t anymore. So I sent off to Newegg to send me a shiny new Xigmatek S1283 Rifle CPU Cooler, rated #1 by FrostyTech. After 3 days, my shiny new CPU cooler arrived. When I removed all the popcorn from the shipping box and pulled out the CPU cooler box, I saw the biggest fan I have ever seen (outside of your normal house fan). My immediate reaction was…”NO WAY! There is no way thing thing is fitting in my case!”

I tried eyeballing it best I could before I started taking apart the stock setup, but I just couldn’t be sure. So I figured…what the hell…I’m going to just go for it and see what happens. Worst case scenario, I get to apply AS5 to the stock setup rather than the icky thermal pad that it had been using.

It was about this time that I started debating lapping my CPU. Not sure if I was ready for this big of an adventure I did some reading about the process and also checked on the cost of a replacement CPU in the event I destroyed this one. Newegg had an AMD Athlon 4000+ for $40.00, so I didn’t feel there was much risk in giving this a go.