A (somewhat) Powerful, (very) Portable PC

shucks

Honorable
Jun 10, 2012
I'm a Computer Science student at Auburn University, and I'm looking to build a computer this summer. This will be my first homebuilt computer. I've got two constraints:

1) Power: I'm starting to work on AIs that learn, conduct spatial reasoning, etc, primarily using simple game environments as a testbed. To this end, I don't need a powerful video card, just something that can handle the sort of things you do with an HTPC, but I need a generous amount of RAM (8-16 GB), and a powerful processor.

These AIs would need to run for extended periods of time (I'd like to have the option of running the computer for days on end, as needed) to really learn, and the machine will be running out of a college dorm room, so I'd like to keep it quiet so that my roommate and I can sleep.

The components I'm looking at to do this job are:
Core i5 2500K Sandy Bridge:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115072&nm_mc=OTC-FroogleNEW&cm_mmc=OTC-FroogleNEW-_-Processors+-+Desktops-_-Intel-_-19115072
OR Core i5 3450S Ivy Bridge:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116507
I'm not sure if it'd be worth the extra $100 for an i7 or not. I've read that the only real increase in power between the i5 and i7 is hyperthreading, which most programs I'd write wouldn't take advantage of.
2x or 4x 4GB Corsair Vengeance 4GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233144&nm_mc=OTC-FroogleNEW&cm_mmc=OTC-FroogleNEW-_-Memory+(Desktop+Memory)-_-Corsair-_-20233144
Radeon HD 6450 Silent video card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121439&nm_mc=OTC-FroogleNEW&cm_mmc=OTC-FroogleNEW-_-Video+Cards-_-ASUS-_-14121439
I want a 1TB+ HDD at 7200 RPM and, if there's room in my budget (and case), to use a 128GB SDD as a boot/program storage drive.