ninabeheim

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011
After comparing the Mac to PC, I cannot justify spending the more than 2x the dollars to purchase the much esteemed macbook pro. I've borrowed the last generation (dual core) M-Book Pro, and was less than impressed. I could not find anything "white paper-ish" to justify the Mac's "superiority" for graphics processing (aside from being a UNIX based OS and better I/O handling). Still, I believe a PC can outperform, at least, with my budget constraints.

I *think* (and I use that term loosely) I have assembled the appropriate parts to build an amazing processing machine, based on the posts here, and photoshop forums. I would appreciate any/all comments/suggestions, and even opinions. :kaola:

I am a professional photographer, and the cameras I use are are >21 megapixels, which yield some beefy RAW files. Additionally, i build some pretty massive digital art composites whose file sizes often exceed 4-6gb. For weddings, I have begun shooting digital to create fusion slideshows, so I definitely see some video editing in my future. At this time, I can't say how much video production I will use, but right now, it's very small.

My current system has a raid 5 array, the memory slots for RAM are hosed ('swhat I get for buying a costco gaming machine), and daily, the boot up time is getting slower and slower... There's no mal or spyware, this puppy is LOCKED DOWN, my start up isn't full of useless crap, and I've turned off EVERYTHING that is not necessary. My workflow time has tripled in the last six months, and I can't afford that.

Here's what I think will work best in my new build, but I do h ave questions about the mobo, I'm not a guru about PC building, and I could definitely use some thoughts about the choices... I have yet to order, probably will in the next week to 10 days.

BTW - The extent of my gaming is on an ipad, or playing command & conquer on my PC. I'm not a gamer, I'm just married to one.

Software I run regularly: