BruceMyers48

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2001
I was wondering if any one with the A7V has slow bootup. I ahve the latest drivers for the bios and promise chip.It takes 1 1/2 minutes to boot. I don't if the 128 lve causes this or not. Any ideas would be appreciated. The only thing I have to do to finish my PC is up grade the power supply to 300w form 250w. I am running a 800 thunder Bird. I have some problems with expert 128. It will freeze up the pc on some site that have alot of colors if I run in the 32 bit color mode.Some games freeze up too. I have the latest drivers for the mobo and the expert 128. the bios is a updated version too. Thanks for some advise. bruce

G

1-1/2 minutes is FAST. My A7V+Tbird 800 takes about 2 minutes. I guess we will just need to be patient. I have no experience with the ATI card. Good luck.

G

Hrm. Back when I was using my P2-400, I managed to get my win 98 se boot time to about 35 seconds (from bios BEEP to windows login). I've noticed it's a bit slower with my kt7, but I'm still not very familiar with this amd system enough to really make it scream like it should.=)

<font color=red>=P

TheAntipop

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
heck, my win2k machine boots up in about a minute and a half, its faster than windows 98 used to be

If at first you don't succede, skydiving isn't for you.
<font color=blue>Intel Inside</font color=blue> = Idiot Outside

jclw

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Is your ATI card RAGE 128 or RAGE 128 PRO based?

Do you have an ethernet card? If you specify a default IP address Win doesn't go looking for a DHCP server every time you boot which speeds things up considerably.

1 1/2 minutes doesn't seem that long to me anyway...

- JW

G