[SOLVED] Abnormal grey mass btwn (solder points?) on back of mobo

Apr 25, 2019
I just got an MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Pro Carbon ATX motherboard, and while working on the build I noticed this strange grey blob between what I assume (though I'm no professional) to be solder points on the back of the motherboard.

View: https://imgur.com/a/Fdtynia

I was wondering what this mass is and, more importantly, if it's a manufacturing fault that'll cause major issues now or down the road. I'm hesitant to give the system power until I have some sort of idea what this thing might be.

Solution
It doesn't look metallic, which would present a short if it were. But it's spanning the gap between memory pins and that can't be good for stability. I think it safe to say it doesn't need to be there.

You could try cleaning it off...try a wooden toothpick or even fingernail then clean it with an isopropyl alcohol moistened swab.
It doesn't look metallic, which would present a short if it were. But it's spanning the gap between memory pins and that can't be good for stability. I think it safe to say it doesn't need to be there.

You could try cleaning it off...try a wooden toothpick or even fingernail then clean it with an isopropyl alcohol moistened swab.

Reactions: almostheking
Solution
Apr 25, 2019

Thanks for the input! I'll give it a try later and report back.

And if I can't get it off, I'm taking it right back to Micro Center for a replacement. You can bet the next one will be opened and inspected in store. Lesson learned.

I was able to clean it of with a toothpick. Still couldn't figure out what it was, but thankfully it turned out to be nothing. Appreciate the help.