About on-board sounds

TuncBilen

Reputable
Jan 31, 2016
Hello dear fellas;

I recently built a pc. I chose a MSI Z97-G43 as my motherboard. Before that I was using a MSI motherboard from 2010. The main problem I have is the sound. I feel a distinctive loss in the quality and control. The software they provide for sound control is terrible. I'm a musician and I get irritated from bad sound quality. I tried everything but the driver (or the sound chip I don't know) is useless. My old software had sliders for seperate speakers. This one doesn't have that option. They give me +/- for decibel increase or decrease. Somehow it doesn't serve the purpose.

My question is " Is there another software I can use for this motherboards sound control? " or " Should I buy another sound card?"

I really don't know about internal sound cards and their advantages over onboard versions.

Thank you for everything,
Have a good day,
Tunc

TuncBilen

Reputable
Jan 31, 2016

Thanks for the answer. My old MSI P7P55D LE was so much better with the same speaker setup. I just can't believe a newer motherboard would have worse sound quality.

If a sound card would fix my needs, which one do you recommend? I'm an avid video gamer and a music listener. Considering these I would love to hear your suggestions.

Thank you,
Tunc

TuncBilen

Reputable
Jan 31, 2016
It has EQ settings. But I just couldn't set it as I wanted. Something always feels missing.

I'm not a headphone user. I will use this sound card with my Logitech X 530 5.1 sound system. I'm added your suggestion to my cart list. But I would love to hear more suggestions.

I can't really have a good surround sound fidelity with this onboard sound chip.

TuncBilen

Reputable
Jan 31, 2016
Hmm I actually liked Sound Blaster Z. But nowhere in my country has it in stock. Is there an ASUS equivalent of that card or something ?