remotehugger

Distinguished
May 19, 2009
Probably a dumb question but i am new to the building scene and am trying to learn. If i turn the ACC to auto and cant boot does that mean the 4th core on my Phenom II 720 is defective? I have a Gigabyte MA790GP-UD4H board. Also can you tell me how to have my build listed so everyone can see it when i ask more of my many dumb (lol) questions. Thanks all

I don't know the answer to your ACC question, but what part of your build list cannot be listed.

Raidmax Smilodon case Phenom II x3 720 4GB DDR2 800 Gigabyte MA790GP-UD4h WD Blue 640GB HDD LG GH22 multi drive Raidmax 500 Watt psu No video card yet(dont ask)
vista premium 64 , look familiar?

remotehugger

Distinguished
May 19, 2009
Why yes it does ! I just didnt know if it was showing up or not. I have had people ask what my system was so i wasnt sure. Thank you. Should i ask about the ACC in a different forum?

B-Unit

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2006
Assuming that

A) It boots fiine with ACC turned off and

B) you've verified you have a version of the BIOS that will perform unlocks

I would say yes, your 4th core is kaput.

UltraO

Distinguished
May 26, 2009

Better doing it from DOS mode, by using either a floppy or usb stick or maybe a cd. Why? Because it is more safe in Windows there are many things that can ruin the flash and if your flash is ruined then you will need to either reflash or get a new bios chip.

remotehugger

Distinguished
May 19, 2009
I dont know how to do it :( either with a usb or a cd . I dont have a floppy. I see a bios flash option on the Gigabyte website though. Man i dont know. Maybe i should just leave it be. I'm not having any problems but i sure do want to try and unlock that fourth core.

remotehugger

Distinguished
May 19, 2009
Big sweaty ones !!! Is there anything else i can try to unlock it? I think i am just gonna leave my bios alone for now. If i turn to auto and it doesnt work can i just turn it off to go back to where it was?

B-Unit