Accidentally got the Cyberpower standard power supply, am I screwed?

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0
So I ordered a computer from Cyberpower and after ordering I did a little research on the power supply because of have never heard of a "Standard" power supply. Most of the reviews said that it can break your computer and I can't cancel and reorder because I ordered this on blackfriday.
 

staste4290

Reputable
Nov 17, 2015
68
0
4,660
9
You should be fine if you ordered a complete computer from Cyberpower. They wouldn't sell you something that would break your computer, but if you are nervous about having it you can get a new power supply for $40.
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Well, the standard PSU's from CyberPower are generally crap.
Will it blow up on day one? No.

If you go into overclocking and add a bigger GPU? Maybe.

Once you get the system, look into replacing that thing.
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0

Will this PSU cause any permanent damage? I don't think I can switch it out right away.

 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator


'this PSU'...
Since we do not know exactly what PSU it is....Unknown.

Will it destroy anything next week? Probably not.
Is it good to just keep using, as you add new parts and capabilities to that PC? No.
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0

So it has a 1 year warranty, would it be fine if I kept it till then, not adding any new parts or anything. Or would it just brake?
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Well...the warranty on a PSU covers the PSU. If it fries, and takes out other components..oh well. Not covered.
The CyberPower warranty? Good luck with that. We've seen many reports here of them stalling on that,

Obviously, CyberPower sells 'thousands' of PC's. Obviously, most of them do not die.

However....there are so many things 'wrong' with buying one of those.
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0

I just realized that I accidently got the Asetek 550LC, please tell me this won't be a problem

 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator


That is a CPU cooler.
http://www.asetek.com/desktop/oem-cpu-coolers/550lc/
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0

Oh thanks, was worried for a second
 

Math Geek

Glorious
Herald
i asked the cyberpower rep what exactly a "standard" psu was from them and got a run around answer. would you mind posting what make and model it is just so we can have a bit of an idea what they sell as "standard" :)

just curious really what they put in them when you don't know any better.
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator


Well...as with most things from CyberPower...I wouldn't have bought that thing.
The good quality air coolers are quieter, cheaper, and more effective.
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0

800 Watts - Standard 80 Plus Certified Power Supply - SLI/CrossFireX Ready
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0


But will I still be fine with it?
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator


Unknown. It may leak and pee all over your hardware.
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0

I'll let you know if my computer breaks or not. Thanks for the info though, my computer is coming in a couple days so it might be a little bit before I can tell you.

 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator


Let us know in a few months.
 

Math Geek

Glorious
Herald


yah i know the site says that :) i'd like you to open the case and look at the label and share what brand the psu is and a model number. we are assuming it is a crap psu and i'd like to know just how low it sinks on the overall craptastic scale. but need to know who makes the psu to know for sure how bad it really is.
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0

Alright, the computer isn't here yet, so I'll let you know when I get it.
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0

Alright, the computer arrived and it is up and running. The power supply says on the side "Power CO., LTD and do you need the model number?
 

Math Geek

Glorious
Herald
i would not mind having the model number. :)

more curious than anything about what they actually put in as standard psu's. i do appreciate your effort in looking for us. i'm not the only one who has wondered what they put in those machines.
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0

I honestly don't know how to check what is in the machines but the model number is "ATA-800FB-B"
 

Chayan4400

Admirable
Apr 12, 2015
1,734
0
6,460
358


If it isn't too much trouble, could you post the UL certification number as well? It should look like this:



After referring to another thread that PSU should have the UL certification listed. We can use that number to find the PSU manufacturer or the OEM if there is one.
 

gibby123

Reputable
Dec 14, 2015
14
0
4,510
0


That number is "E 186010"
 

Similar threads