Activated abilities of local enchatments

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

March of the Machine is in play; I control a non-creature-artifact (turned
to creature by MotM) enchanted by Pemmin's Aura:
Enchant Creature
(U): Untap enchanted creature. [...]

I put on the stack the first ability of P'sA, and in response MotM gets
removed.
Will the ability fail to untap the artifact, since it isn't a creature
anymore, althoug the ability don't target?
Is "enchanted XXX" a requirement or just a formal template?
The only similar thing I can find on CompRules is 404.4c about delayed
triggered, but it seems quite different.
Thanks in advance!

--
Andrea Murru
Level 2 Judge
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Mon, 14 Mar 2005 05:52:31 -0500, Acherontia <qebm@libero.it> wrote:
>March of the Machine is in play; I control a non-creature-artifact (turned
>to creature by MotM) enchanted by Pemmin's Aura:
>Enchant Creature
>(U): Untap enchanted creature. [...]

Okay.

>I put on the stack the first ability of P'sA, and in response MotM gets
>removed.
>Will the ability fail to untap the artifact, since it isn't a creature
>anymore, althoug the ability don't target?

Nope. The Pemmin's Aura will in fact fall off - get put into owner's
graveyard - as a state-based effect, right after the MotM leaves play, but
that will not affect its activated ability, already on the stack. The ability
will resolve, and will untap what it finds, using last-known information from
the Aura, as what the Aura was enchanting at the time it went to the graveyard.
(It will ignore the fact that, technically, that wasn't a -creature- at the
time, and hadn't been one for a few milliseconds.) 202.2a partly covers this,
as does 212.4h.
In essence, "enchanted creature" means "the thing I am currently enchanting,
or if I am not currently in play, the thing I was enchanting as I left play".
(If the -creature- leaves play out from under the enchantment, then the
enchantment generally can't do anything to the no-longer-there creature, though
it can use information -from- that creature still.)

For an extreme example, look at the last ability of Animate Dead: "When Animate
Dead leaves play, destroy enchanted creature. It can't be regenerated."; this
ability NEVER has the Animate Dead be on the creature at the time the ability
resolves, but it will still happily destroy that creature (or whatever it has
become in the meantime if it's still in play but not a creature).

>Is "enchanted XXX" a requirement or just a formal template?

Template; it does not mean "if this is no longer in play and thus that is
not enchanted, Do Nothing". (It does, however, look to see what the enchantment
is -currently- on, just in case it got moved in response; it does not "lock in
on announcement" what "enchanted creature" refers to, usually.)

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Acherontia wrote:

> March of the Machine is in play; I control a non-creature-artifact (turned
> to creature by MotM) enchanted by Pemmin's Aura:
> Enchant Creature
> (U): Untap enchanted creature. [...]
>
> I put on the stack the first ability of P'sA, and in response MotM gets
> removed.
> Will the ability fail to untap the artifact, since it isn't a creature
> anymore, althoug the ability don't target?

It untaps.

> Is "enchanted XXX" a requirement or just a formal template?

It's just a formal template.

> The only similar thing I can find on CompRules is 404.4c about delayed
> triggered, but it seems quite different.
> Thanks in advance!
>

--
Christopher Mattern

"Which one you figure tracked us?"
"The ugly one, sir."
"...Could you be more specific?"
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

>>Is "enchanted XXX" a requirement or just a formal template?
>Template; it does not mean "if this is no longer >in play and thus that
is
>not enchanted, Do Nothing".

Well, I know this, I was just wondering about the "permanent type" (or any
characteristic) mismatch.
A further twist: what if the activated ability was instead "Enchanted
creature gains flying until end of turn"?
Thanks again!
Andrea Murru
Level 2 Judge
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Acherontia <qebm@libero.it> wrote:
>>>Is "enchanted XXX" a requirement or just a formal template?
>>Template; it does not mean "if this is no longer >in play and thus that is
>>not enchanted, Do Nothing".
>
>Well, I know this, I was just wondering about the "permanent type" (or any
>characteristic) mismatch.

Yes - this actually came up somewhat earlier for Grafted Wargear, and was
discussed a long time ago back in the first go-round of "Enchant <specific
kind of> Foo".

>A further twist: what if the activated ability was instead "Enchanted
>creature gains flying until end of turn"?

Well. then it would gain flying. Flying isn't particularly -useful- to a
noncreature artifact, or to a land, since neither one can actually be an
attacker, and thus can't try to evade blockers ... but nothing stops an
artifact from -having- flying, _having_ "+2/+2 until end of turn", etc. (It's
just fairly difficult to GIVE an artifact flying, etc., because everything we
have assumes you're giving it to a creature.)

(Note further that Hurricane and the like ignore noncreature artifacts with
flying totally - just about everything that checks whether a permanent HAS
flying, again, assumes or states outright it's checking creatures...)

You can pull similar tricks with Animate Artifact being removed, Living
Plane or the like being removed, etc.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.