Question Add Windows 10 PC to Network w/ XP and Win 7 PCs?

Clueless in Seattle

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2014
I've got a couple of old hand-me-down PCs on a wired Windows network.

One of the PCs is running Windows XP and the other Windows 7.

Faced with the loss of MS support for Windows 7, I decided it was finally time to bite the bullet and face having to learn how to work with Windows 10. So I broke down and ordered a refurbished pig-in-a-poke PC* with Windows 10 pre-installed from Comcast for a hundred and fifty bucks. (I'm not happy with what I received, but that's another story).

Now I need to figure out how to add the Win 10 PC to my network so I can copy over all my files from the old PCs to the new PC. But it's been so long since I set up my network that I can't remember how I did it. And I have zero experience with Windows 10, so am not sure if I should start by creating a new network on the Windows 10 machine or if I should try to add the Windows 10 machine to my existing network.

I'd be grateful for some advice on where to start on this project.

Will in Seattle
a.k.a. "Clueless"

* Comcast doesn't tell you which brand or model of PC you'll get when you place your order. All they tell you is the minimum specs of the machines they provide.

Last edited:

Ralston18

Titan
Simplicity.

Just add the new Windows 10 PC to the existing network.

On that new Windows 10 PC create and share a folder that can be accessed by other existing network devices with files that you wish to "copy over". You can remove or change the share later on as necessary.

Do be sure that you have backup copies of all files and that those backup copies are indeed recoverable and readable. Just in case....

Then copy the desired files on each of the other relevant computers to the shared folder on the new Windows 10 PC.

Use Copy not Move.

Reactions: Clueless in Seattle

Clueless in Seattle

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2014
Thanks, Ralston18, for that speedy reply!