[SOLVED] Addressable RGB components

Feb 2, 2019
I’ve been searching high and low for an answer for 2 questions about ARGB.

1) My first question I have is about controllers. I may end up with multiple controllers in my build. I have a H500M Cooler Master case, which has a controller for the 2 200mm fans that come with it. I want to put in an AIO cooler for the CPU and those usually come with a controller, from the ones I’ve looked at. So the question is, how can you connect multiple controllers, possibly from different vendors, to a single header on the motherboard? I guessing a splitter cable, or USB. As far as I’ve dug in forums, no one has asked or answered that question sufficiently for me.

2) Looking at the connectors of the fans in the case they look to be the standard 5v 3 pin RGB but use a splitter to the CM controller. If this is standard couldn’t I simply, using a splitter from say TT, to connect up to a TT sync 9 port controller?

Solution
The way I understand such third-party controllers to work is that all the power for its output ports comes from its connection to a PSU output. It draws almost no power for its lights from the host mobo header it is plugged into. On an ARGB strip, almost ALL the power is consumed in lighting up the LED's, and very little power is consumed by the little control chips associated with each LED group. It's a lot like the way a fan Hub operates. In a Controller such as the one you linked to, one way it can operate is to provide the Ground and +5 VDC power supply to all the strips plugged into it only from the PSU connection, and draw no power for the LED's from the mobo host header. Then it could take the mobo's Control Line signal and...

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador