Advice for Custom Gaming Rig & Questions

adragalus

Honorable
Oct 6, 2013
Hello all,

I'm new to the desktop scene and Tom's Hardware both, but I figured it would be a good place to ask questions and pitch ideas as I try to hammer the kinks out of my first build. Sorry if my questions are naive or incorrect.

BUSINESS THE FIRST -- BUILD*
This is the build I'm currently planning. I'm open to changes and tweaks, but this is what I've come up with so far. Total price as configured comes out to about $2500.
Case: Corsair Carbide-series 500R Mid-Tower (Amazon)
CPU: Intel i7-4770K 3.5GHz (Newegg)
GPU: AMD Radeon R9-290X 4GB**
RAM: 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz (Newegg)
PSU: Corsair HX850 850W (Newegg)
SSD: Corsair 600-series 240GB (Newegg
HDD: WD Black 2TB 7200RPM (Newegg)
Motherboard: Asus Maximus Hero (Newegg)
Wifi: D-Link DWA-548 PCIe adaptor*** (Amazon)
Keyboard: Razer Deathstalker Expert (Amazon)
Monitor: Asus PB278Q 1560x1440 27" (Amazon)

*Some links are to Amazon, sorry. These are just the best deals I could find, not necessarily the most informative pages
**This is my current idea, this is flexible and depends heavily on release benchmarks/Nvidia price drops/etc.
***The router in my house is too far away for an ethernet cord, so having this option is useful for me

///

BUSINESS THE SECOND -- QUESTIONS
1) I read something in the motherboard feedback on Newegg about PCIe 3.0 16x slots and performance through these slots dropping to 8x when used in Crossfire/SLI. Is it possible to keep maximum bandwidth with these slots, were I to use dual GPUs?

2) Given the build I have, would the fans that come with the motherboard/case be sufficient, or should I invest in additional cooling units? I would like to stay away from watercooling.

3) I'm tempted to get the 1440p monitor to take full advantage of my system, and of better resolution, but do 1080p games look awful on a higher resolution? What would the best display grade be?

///

BUSINESS THE THIRD -- NOTES