Advice on computer I want to build.

G

Hi all i'm playing to build my first computer and i would like advice on my choices. I've never done this before so maybe you guys can find compatibility issues between things I want and such problems I could have. Thanks

Abit KT7A Motherboard $125.00
AMD 1.3GHz DDR Socket A $220.00

256 MB DIMM PC133 PNY RAM $93.95
256 MB DIMM PC133 PNY RAM $93.95
CG ATX-6013-G1 Mid Tower Case w/ 250W $39.99

APG ANNIHILATOR 2 ULTRA 64MB DDR AGP 4X $349.99
PCI SBLIVE! MP3+ 5.1 $86.95
PCI Hauppauge Win TV PVR $249.00
80GB Maxtor DiamondMax Drive $274.95
PCI Creative PC-DVD 12X DVD w/ DXR3 Decoder $127.95

Microsoft Optical Intellimouse $50.00
Keyboard $20.00
Floppy Drive $20.00

From Old Computer

PCI SCSI Card N/A
PCI Fire wire Card N/A
PCI 3 com NIC N/A
Smart and Friendly Burner N/A
40 GB Hard Drive N/A

TOTAL: $1,763.73

A few things on my choices.

I don't plan to upgrade the CPU often and I don't see getting a P4 yet as the will be outpahsed for a newer chip set in the upcomming months. So i deceide to go with an Athlon 1.33. I wasn't too sure on what motherboard to get expect that I needed 6 PCI slots.

I figured RAM was pretty chep so why not go all the way to 512 for less than 200 bucks

I'm big into games, but the Gforce 3 is way to expensive. The Gforce 2 Ultra isn't really that far off and i'm usre i can live with it.

I shoose that specific TV card because is has the ability to do mepg 2 encoding. I like to have a TV card in general, but the mpeg 2 encoding can help when I transfer movies form my digital cam (via Fire Wire) to the computer. Am i wrong on this?

Large Hard dirve for all these movies and such things I have stored on the computer along with music that is recorded live at shows. I already have 40GB of stuff on my current hardrive that I will bring over.