[SOLVED] Advice on MOBO, CPU and GPU upgrades

mvenezia02

Prominent
Aug 15, 2019
Hello everyone. Apologies in advance for the long post. So about a year or two ago I built my first PC(specs below):

Gigabyte H310M A MOBO
Intel i3 8100 CPU
EVGA GTX 1050 Ti GPU
Viper 16GB(8x2 DDR4) RAM
ADATA 512GB SSD(which I need to replace cause it broke)
Seagate 1TB HDD
EVGA Bronze power supply 500w

I built it on a budget and wasn't looking to blow every dollar I had on a top line machine at the time(especially given what games I intended on playing). However, with Doom Eternal coming up(which my current PC can barely play, if at all) and the Resident Evil 2 Remake still sitting and waiting to be played(which I also basically can't play), I figured it was time to upgrade my PCs CPU and GPU(and by extension, MOBO, since my current one doesn't take an i7).

So here is my question. Since I am still pretty new to building and upgrading my own stuff, I was wondering where I should go with my upgrades. Currently I play mostly older games(which is why my current build has served me so well), but I also play FFXIV and am looking to get into some higher tier games(graphically) like the aforementioned Doom Eternal and RE2 Remake as well as possibly some online FPS games at some point as well.

I have zero interest in VR gaming. I really just would like to play my games at 1080p/1440p on Very High - Ultra at a consistent 60+ FPS. My initial reaction with CPU was to go for an i7(so I wouldn't need to worry about upgrading it again at least for a while), but MOBO and GPU are where I become unsure. Is a 1080 enough? Can I go higher without "overupgrading," I guess you could say, given I have no interest in VR?

I am not looking to break the bank, but I am willing to spend a bit more this time around(I guess like ~300 for CPU and GPU each and then whatever for MOBO, but I would be willing to compromise and go higher if the upgrade was worth the higher price or something).