Advice On My Build

gide0n

Honorable
Jan 22, 2013
Hello all. I'm building a modest machine, this will be my second one. I'm knowledgeable about computers to a degree, and I believe I've done my homework, but I was hoping some of you guys might be able to take a look at my build and tell me if you think I might have any issues to look out for, or if maybe I might need to get additional components. I'm a musician, and will mostly be doing music production on this machine.

Any input, help or advice is much appreciated.

OS - Windows 10 Pro

Case - Fractal Design Define R5 White Window Silent ATX Midtower Computer Case

Motherboard - ASUS TUF SABERTOOTH Z170 S LGA 1151

CPU - Intel Core i7-6700K

CPU Fan - Phanteks PH-TC12DX Dual 120mm PWM CPU Cooler (Get a better one if I OC?)

RAM - CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3000 (PC4 24000) Memory Kit Model

PSU - EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 220-G2-0750-XR 80+ GOLD 750W

HDD - WD Blue 3TB Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 5400 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 64MB

Solution
With a 1070, you'll want a 550w PSU with an overclocked CPU.
The Seagate 1+2TB HDDs are good, but the higher capacities suffer from high failure rates (4TB+).
WD Caviar Blues are the best value in the 1TB form, as they retain the 7200RPM speed which is pretty much a must-have nowadays, as 5400RPM pales in comparison.
SSDs will make programs run faster, and will allow your OS to boot much faster.
Only install software and OS on your SSD, any games etc. will just clog it up with virtually no difference.
The build you've bought is perfectly fine, but some components are overpriced.
It will work though! :)

R_1

Expert
Ambassador
I would suggest adding an SSD (for OS), that drive is huge but slow as a snail compared to even a cheap adata SSD. this is the last drive I worked with. I liked it.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211984&cm_re=adata_ssd-_-20-211-984-_-Product