[SOLVED] Advice on my upgrade

Jul 28, 2019
Hello everyone,

my old build, which i will list the specs below, is not working anymore. Long story short, the motherboard is the problem. I was digging a bit trying to replace the motherboard, but ofcourse it is 2019 and nobody sells a LGA 1155 Z series motherboard anymore. I am very reluctant to buy from second hand as well, so i decided to upgrade my PC instead. Here are the old specs:

Motherboard: MSI Z77A-G45

CPU: I5-3570K (OC to 4.2Ghz, after market cooler)

GPU: MSI geforce gtx 1070 gaming X 8g

RAM: Kingston's KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX (2x DDR3 4 gb RAM)

PSU: Corsair VS650

Now, i am by no means an expert. All of the things i write here are from self research. My criteria for choosing the motherboard ofcourse depends on the choice of CPU (AMD vs Intel). Additionally, due to my very old DDR3 RAMs, i will have to most likely replace them with a DDR4 for compatible ones, which will add additional costs. With a budget of under 500 EUR together the parts i was thinking of getting are:

CPU: I5-8600K (ca. 275 EUR) or R5 3600X (ca. 260 EUR)

If i were to get a intel CPU, i think i can keep on using the after market cooler i used for the 3570k to overclock, while if i got the 3600x i was planning to start out using the stock wraith spire cooler.

Motherboard: Some Z motherboard (need recommendation) or MSI B450I GAMING PLUS AC (ca. 115 EUR)

The motherboard has to fit my current case, which is a Zalman Z12 plus (midtower, dimensions: 215(W) x 470(H) x 480(D) mm, PCI compatibility Full Size, 290 mm)

RAM: DDR4 8-16 gb total

I read somewhere that for the system to take full advantage of an AMD CPU i should have a fast RAM (ca. 3000 MHz) and dual DIMM configuration, which limits me to probably 2x 8gb. I am not sure if this is strictly true.

So, what do you guys think? Do the parts make sense? Any advice? i mostly game on my PC with a few image/video rendering for my work. Please let me know if i have missed any details.