Question Advice Requested on VPN Service Choices

Status
Not open for further replies.

MasterYoda327

Reputable
May 26, 2019
I am researching VPNs for my father. I have done some general research on VPNs and after looking at multiple top 10 VPN ratings lists with different recommendations, I have narrowed the selection to Nord VPN, Surfshark, and Express VPN. I have looked at one or two web pages comparing these VPNs, but I am not very familiar with VPNs overall. The main purpose for the VPN will be for home use for safe and secure browsing, email, and streaming TV, movies, and music on our computers, smartphones, and tablets. My father will also be doing business work through the home VPN handling important business information as well as traveling both domestically and internationally, so a VPN that can due the previously mentioned activities safely, securely, and reliably while traveling is also important. Again, I am no expert on VPNs, the three mentioned VPNs seem to be good candidates overall with my understanding that Surfshark allows the use of an unlimited number of devices while the other two VPNs offer only a limited number of device connections. I know that there are dozens of VPN choices out there, but my question is if these three mentioned VPNs would be good enough for our needs or do you recommend any alternative VPNs. I am trying to get the best information possible so that my father can make a decision on which VPN service to use.

Thanks.

dat789

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2013
You can use the internet safely and securely without VPN -- private browsing (to some extend), managing your browsing cookies, adjusting your browser's setting to blocking tracking and/or scripts, using password managers, adhere to cyber security best practices, be mindful of what you download and what websites you'd visit, etc.