After moving, windows 7 rig unable to boot with disc.

fr4nkenstein

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2013
Okay, I'm a bit of a novice so I'll try to explain the best I can. I've currently been moving for the past 8-10 months so I've had my computer in storage. I had it in with my clothes in a plastic container, anyway.

Finally moved, internet hooked up. I went to turn it on and I get Windows Boot Manager telling me I need to put in the windows installation disc. I do, and go to repair and it tells me I had problems with the booting of Windows and brings me to the Windows Error Recovery page telling me to launch Startup Repair. I try, and it brings me back to the Boot Manager page. The other option is start windows regularly so I tried that, it brought up the regular windows screen only to be brought back to the Boot Manager page.

I was researching and read that F8 on Boot Manager brings up advanced options? I tried unsuccessfully but I'm not sure if what I read was true or not.

I'm without a car ATM or I'd probably take it to a computer repair shop because I am stumped.

Any help would be more than appreciated. If you need any additional information, don't hesitate to ask

TL;DR - Can't get passed Boot Manager on w7 with the windows disc

Solution
If nothing of the above works, use Hiren's Boot (google, download and burn it) to boot your pc with it using its "mini windows XP" option, with this you should be able to copy all your data to a pendrive / external HDD (make sure to plug it in before starting your pc) and then make a fresh windows installation.
Press F8 while your pc is starting up, under the available options choose "safe mode". If that manages to get into windows (should take longer than usual) run a chkdsk /F on your C: drive from cmd. You should be able to do that also from one of the recovery options your installation disc gives you.

fr4nkenstein

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2013