Question Air cooled CPU with water cooled GPU ?

rene641

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2014
I have a Cooler Master NR600 with ODD case , an ATX board with CPU i5-13600KF and GPU RTX 4080 Super. CPU is cooled with Peerless Assassin 120 and for RTX 4080 Super I ordered an Alphacool Eiswolf 2 AIO with 360 radiator. The only way to place the radiator in the case is to remove the ODD and put the radiator on the front wall of the case. I'm a bit concerned that the Peerless Assassin will draw warm air from the radiator in front of it and there will be a problem with CPU cooling. Does anyone have a similar configuration and what is your experience with it?

Lutfij

Titan
yes it'll draw in prewarmed air before it's exhausted out the case with the rear fan(and possibly be vented up the top if you remove the dust filter) but you could add an Eisbaer to the loop and have your CPU watercooled as well as the GPU and you're able to contain the loop in the case in general.

The principal is the same;
View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1u_SZ5xHgw

in spite of the video being dated.

Phaaze88

Titan
Ambassador
I'm a bit concerned that the Peerless Assassin will draw warm air from the radiator in front of it and there will be a problem with CPU cooling.
This isn't anything new; most* air cooled gpus have been dumping their waste heat into cpu air or top mounted AIO coolers for years. The front mounted Eiswolf will be more of the same thing.
[The blower style gpu cooler is the only one that doesn't do this.]

35below0

Respectable
Jan 3, 2024
How do you feel about buying a new case? To give yourself more options.

The Fractal Torrent is expensive but it's cooling is so good.
Other, cheaper cases can do the job. Just look at where you could install the radiator.
This isn't anything new; most* air cooled gpus have been dumping their waste heat into cpu air or top mounted AIO coolers for years. The front mounted Eiswolf will be more of the same thing.