Alastor with no equipment?

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

(For Ankur...)

Anneke gets drunk on some XTC-laced blood. After Frederick the Weak
(who has gone Out of the Frying Pan) snaps her out of her addiction, she
decides to reward him by calling an Alastor vote naming FtW, which passes.

Unfortunately, while Anneke was out of it, it turns out that some mean
Harbingers of Skulls Slaughterhouse'd all the Assault Rifles. So when
her controller goes through his library to find a weapon, he comes up
empty.

Is Frederick still an Alastor, or does the vote's effects fizzle?

Alastor: Choose a ready Camarilla vampire. If this referendum is
successful, search your library for an equipment card and place this
card and the equipment on the chosen vampire. Pay half the cost (round
down) of the equipment. This vampire may enter combat with any vampire
controlled by another Methuselah as a +1 stealth (D) action. This
vampire cannot commit diablerie. A vampire may have only one Alastor.

--Colin McGuigan
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

> Anneke gets drunk on some XTC-laced blood. After Frederick the Weak
> (who has gone Out of the Frying Pan) snaps her out of her addiction, she
> decides to reward him by calling an Alastor vote naming FtW, which
> passes.
>
> Unfortunately, while Anneke was out of it, it turns out that some mean
> Harbingers of Skulls Slaughterhouse'd all the Assault Rifles. So when
> her controller goes through his library to find a weapon, he comes up
> empty.
>
> Is Frederick still an Alastor, or does the vote's effects fizzle?

Trick question, since you use the Waste Management Operation to put an
Assault Rifle back into your deck. (You did call Alastor during your
discard phase, didn't you?)

> Alastor: Choose a ready Camarilla vampire. If this referendum is
> successful, search your library for an equipment card and place this
> card and the equipment on the chosen vampire. Pay half the cost (round
> down) of the equipment. This vampire may enter combat with any vampire
> controlled by another Methuselah as a +1 stealth (D) action. This
> vampire cannot commit diablerie. A vampire may have only one Alastor.

Seriously speaking, the statements on the Alastor card are separated by
periods. Each happens. The order is unimportant since at this point
(successful) the card's effects are considered atomic. You couldn't say,
"interrupt" this card's effects in order prevent the "no diablerie"
consequence.

Ankur
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Ankur Gupta wrote:
> Trick question, since you use the Waste Management Operation to put an
> Assault Rifle back into your deck. (You did call Alastor during your
> discard phase, didn't you?)

I tried, but sadly, there was another untapped Slaughterhouse. So now I
have this assault rifle in my hand, and I put my cards on the table, and
I'm trying to edge the card away from the others so I can call it my
library, but they keep pointing and yelling "cheater" and it's really
distracting.

> Seriously speaking, the statements on the Alastor card are separated by
> periods. Each happens. The order is unimportant since at this point
> (successful) the card's effects are considered atomic. You couldn't say,
> "interrupt" this card's effects in order prevent the "no diablerie"
> consequence.

It was mostly that "put this card" and "put this equipment" were the
same sentence that got me. But I overlooked the Path of Death and the
Soul ruling.

I will somehow use this to my advantage. Perhaps a Force of Will /
Daring the Dawn deck that makes everyone else on the table Alastors
first to keep from getting diablerized.

--Colin McGuigan
 

orpheus

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2005
171
0
18,680
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Colin McGuigan a écrit :
> (For Ankur...)
>
> Anneke gets drunk on some XTC-laced blood. After Frederick the Weak
> (who has gone Out of the Frying Pan) snaps her out of her addiction, she
> decides to reward him by calling an Alastor vote naming FtW, which passes.
>
> Unfortunately, while Anneke was out of it, it turns out that some mean
> Harbingers of Skulls Slaughterhouse'd all the Assault Rifles. So when
> her controller goes through his library to find a weapon, he comes up
> empty.
>
> Is Frederick still an Alastor, or does the vote's effects fizzle?

Uh, Colin, and what have YOU been taking tonight ?? :O

Orpheus
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

> Orpheus wrote:
>> Uh, Colin, and what have YOU been taking tonight ?? :O
>
> Majesty.

hahahahahahahahahahaa

Ankur
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Orpheus wrote:
> Uh, Colin, and what have YOU been taking tonight ?? :O

Majesty.

--Colin McGuigan
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Ankur Gupta wrote:
>> Orpheus wrote:
>>
>>> Uh, Colin, and what have YOU been taking tonight ?? :O
>>
>>
>> Majesty.
>
>
> hahahahahahahahahahaa

It's the great taste that tastes great togeth...oh, nevermind.

--Colin McGuigan
 

orpheus

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2005
171
0
18,680
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Colin McGuigan a écrit :
> Orpheus wrote:
>
>> Uh, Colin, and what have YOU been taking tonight ?? :O
>
>
> Majesty.

LOL. That the name of a new drug, or just a "Combat ends, I untap"
statement ? ;)

Orpheus
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Orpheus wrote:
> LOL. That the name of a new drug, or just a "Combat ends, I untap"
> statement ? ;)

Reference to my conversation with Ankur over in the Learjet / Bum's Rush
thread.

--Colin McGuigan
 

orpheus

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2005
171
0
18,680
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Colin McGuigan a écrit :
> Orpheus wrote:
>
>> LOL. That the name of a new drug, or just a "Combat ends, I untap"
>> statement ? ;)
>
>
> Reference to my conversation with Ankur over in the Learjet / Bum's Rush
> thread.
>
> --Colin McGuigan

Ok. I read it. I think you're nearly as insane as François Gombault, and
please do believe this is a compliment. B)

Orpheus, Combat Ends (ex-Doge...)
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

On Thu, 31 Mar 2005 15:45:33 -0600, Colin McGuigan
<maguaSPAM@BGONEspeakeasy.net> scrawled:

>(For Ankur...)
>
>Anneke gets drunk on some XTC-laced blood. After Frederick the Weak
>(who has gone Out of the Frying Pan) snaps her out of her addiction, she
>decides to reward him by calling an Alastor vote naming FtW, which passes.
>
>Unfortunately, while Anneke was out of it, it turns out that some mean
>Harbingers of Skulls Slaughterhouse'd all the Assault Rifles. So when
>her controller goes through his library to find a weapon, he comes up
>empty.
>
>Is Frederick still an Alastor, or does the vote's effects fizzle?
>
>Alastor: Choose a ready Camarilla vampire. If this referendum is
>successful, search your library for an equipment card and place this
>card and the equipment on the chosen vampire. Pay half the cost (round
>down) of the equipment. This vampire may enter combat with any vampire
>controlled by another Methuselah as a +1 stealth (D) action. This
>vampire cannot commit diablerie. A vampire may have only one Alastor.

from the Path of Death and the Soul ruling, where you can still get
the blood even if there's no skill card, i'd say good ol Fred is still
an Alastor.

salem
http://www.users.tpg.com.au/adsltqna/VtES/index.htm
(replace "hotmail" with "yahoo" to email)
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

salem wrote:
> On Thu, 31 Mar 2005 15:45:33 -0600, Colin McGuigan
>>Anneke gets drunk on some XTC-laced blood. After Frederick the Weak
>>(who has gone Out of the Frying Pan) snaps her out of her addiction, she
>>decides to reward him by calling an Alastor vote naming FtW, which passes.
>>
>>Unfortunately, while Anneke was out of it, it turns out that some mean
>>Harbingers of Skulls Slaughterhouse'd all the Assault Rifles. So when
>>her controller goes through his library to find a weapon, he comes up
>>empty.
>>
>>Is Frederick still an Alastor, or does the vote's effects fizzle?
>>
> from the Path of Death and the Soul ruling, where you can still get
> the blood even if there's no skill card, i'd say good ol Fred is still
> an Alastor.

Correct.

--
LSJ (vtesrepSPAM@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
 
G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

> I tried, but sadly, there was another untapped Slaughterhouse. So now I
> have this assault rifle in my hand, and I put my cards on the table, and
> I'm trying to edge the card away from the others so I can call it my
> library, but they keep pointing and yelling "cheater" and it's really
> distracting.

I don't understand people sometimes. The same thing happens to me.

> I will somehow use this to my advantage. Perhaps a Force of Will /
> Daring the Dawn deck that makes everyone else on the table Alastors
> first to keep from getting diablerized.

l337haxxorsbroken. That's the last step in my Ankla Hotep
Regeneration/Movement of the Slow Body/Force of Will Bleed deck.

Now I'm unstoppable.

Ankur