Alienware or, build your own?

Mannn76

Honorable
Feb 18, 2013
Hello, people at Toms. I've been doing research lately and I've been wondering. Build your own or buy a Pre-built?

I've been looking at the Alienware X51 (3rd set up with Intel i7 1299$) but I've heard alienware is quite expensive and I could get the same or maybe more for less. I've seen a few people ask this and I've read a few topics but i wanted to ask myself just to know.

I'm not experienced at all at building a computer, so that was one reason why I'm leaning on a Pre-built. Though, I've heard that it's easy and there's plenty of tutorials; I still don't know.

My budget is <$1300. What could I get as far as building a good gaming computer with that?

P.s I've also heard the bios is hard to set up?

Structured advice would be appreciated.

g-unit1111

Titan
P.s I've also heard the bios is hard to set up?

Not necessarily as long as you get a motherboard with a modern visual BIOS like Gigabyte, Asus, and Asrock have.

Alienware = no bueno.

If you don't want to build your own use Cyberpower, Origin, or Digital Storm. There's also Falcon Northwest but their systems can get ridiculously expensive. However, chances are very good that you know someone who has built their own system and they'd be more than willing to help.

The bad thing about Alienware is that since they've been bought by Dell, have gone way down hill. They use the same watered down hardware and proprietary form factors that make upgrading incredibly difficult or near impossible in some cases. Stay away.

2wenty

Honorable
Dec 20, 2012