Question All new parts, still won’t boot. What am I missing?

Jan 7, 2022
Hey all,

So my previous build was as follows:

Ryzen 5 2600X
MSI 1060 6gb
32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200mhz
MSI B450 Performance Gaming Plus

Includes: 2 SSDs, 2 HDD, no M2. 2 case fans, stock Ryzen CPU fan. Unk name EVGA Semi Modular PSU.

I have been running this build since mid 2019 with zero issues until recently. Week or two ago it would randomly shut off, irrelevant of load. Screen would go black and CPU light would turn on. This slowly started happening more and more and I was unable to find any information within Windows Events as to what caused it.
Ultimately, I attempted manipulating various pieces. Reseated CPU, tried 1 stick of RAM, until eventually it just quit entirely and would refuse to boot past the Red CPU debug light.

I decided I’d upgrade and replace what I thought would be the problem parts.
I bought a Ryzen 5 5600X, B550 MSI Tomahawk and a Corsair RM750 PSU.
I put these parts in today, same RAM, same GPU, same case fans. It booted, restarted. Only unique item of note would be it would also only boot to BIOS until I turned on the CSM over EUFI option.

Got home after a few hours of it idling, temperatures were all good (they were good with the previous build as well), booted up a game and played for about 10-15 minutes and then screen went black and CPU light was on.

I tried unplugging all SATA drives except my boot, no luck, I tried replacing all cables and making sure they were seated correctly. I tried moving my RAM around and using 1 stick, no dice.
I pulled an unknown older GTX graphics card out of an older system and plugged it in, then pulled the DDR4 ram out of that system and used it as well. First go with the RAM, it booted to BIOS, but then couldn’t go any further as it complained no boot drive was present (which I had unplugged the wrong one). Rebooted with all drives back in and CPU light was back on.