All this debate about which graphics card is best.

ComradeMishkin

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2003
Hi.

I am not an expert in graphics cards and I don't post or put my coments on here often because of it, just read and learn, but I do have a question.

I can't remember where I read it from, and it was quite a while back, I think just before the latest Radions and Gforce FXs came out, but what I read was that at the time when ATI were in the final stages of the Radions, Nvidia encountered some kind of a problem with one of their products, which forced them to move the release date of the Gforce cards about 6 months later.

So the question is if this IS the case. And if it is then is it possible the Nvidia just never managed to recover from that in time to beat ATI producs.

I know this isn't an excuse for Nvidia to make bad cards and all, this is called life and competition etc, but at least in this case they have a reason for not designing as good cards or rushing projects to catch up with the technological improvements and hence the FX cards could be just "rough" and not complete designs, that they tried to get out of theiy way to move on to the next generation cards, so they can be ready and complete on time.

Like I said it was a while since I saw that article and can't remember all the details (don't think they gave too many of them anyway) so if anybody could let me know if any of this is true.

Cheers

Vapor

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2001
The 6 months are long over. Neither company has released anything groundbreaking since R300, either.

Maxtor disgraces the six letters that make Matrox.

pauldh

Illustrious